Redistricting panel chosen

150 150 Malka Kopell

The original eight members of the Citizens Redistricting Commission have now selected the remaining six commissioners, bringing the total to the required 14 members. This opens the final door for the commission to begin its work of redrawing district lines for the Legislature, Board of Equalization, and Congress. 

The six additional commissioners are:

Registered Democrats

Registered Republicans

Registered “Other”

Gabino T. Aguirre

Lilbert “Gil” R. Ontai

Michelle R. DiGuilio-Matz

Maria Blanco

Michael Ward

M. Andre Parvenu

They join existing commissioners Vincent Barabba (R), Cynthia Dai (D), Jodie Filkins Webber (R), Stanley Forbes (“Other”), Connie Galambos Malloy (“Other”), Elaine Kuo (D), Jeanne Raya (D) and Peter Yao (R).

The names of the proposed six candidates were announced last week. The public then had five days to review and comment. In all, the commission received more than 100 emailed comments.

“This is a milestone in what we think will be substantial governance reform in California,” said Jim Mayer, executive director of California Forward.  “Citizen-based redistricting, along with other political and fiscal reforms, will strengthen the role of Californians in their government, and the responsiveness and accountability of those they elect to make decisions on their behalf.”

The first meeting of the full Citizens Redistricting Commission has been proposed for Friday, Jan. 7, 2011 at 9:30 a.m.

The Citizens Redistricting Commission was created in response to the passage of Proposition 11 in 2008. Citizen redistricting was reaffirmed by voters in Nov. 2011, with the passage of Proposition 20, which added Congressional redistricting.

The final commission includes five Republicans, five Democrats, and four independent, minority party, or decline-to-state voters.  The Commission must complete its work by Aug. 15, 2011.

California Forward advocated for the commission’s existence and worked to educate voters on the importance of redistricting to a fair and functioning system.

Malka Kopell is the redistricting implementation project director for California Forward. 


Malka Kopell

All stories by: Malka Kopell