Our Leadership

Our Leadership Council is a diverse group of Californians who guide California Forward’s projects.

Leadership Council Secretary

Susan Lovenburg
Susan Lovenburg

Previously Served

Juan Arambula
Former Assembly Speaker pro Tempore

Joanne Kozberg
Principal at California Strategies, LLC

Stewart Kwoh
President & Executive Director of Asian Americans Advancing Justice

Donna Lucas
Former Deputy Chief of Staff for Strategic Planning & Initiatives for Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger

Laurie Madigan
Partner at Madigan Consulting, Inc

James P. Mayer
Senior Fellow & President Emeritus at California Forward

Thomas V. McKernan, Founding Co-Chair
Chair of the Board of the Automobile Club of Southern California

Bruce McPherson
Former California Secretary of State

Eloy Ortiz Oakley
Superintendent-President, Long Beach City College

Leon E. Panetta
Former Co-Chair; Fmr. Secretary of Defense and Director of the Central Intelligence Agency

Charles “Chuck” Poochigian
Former State Senator & Assemblymember

Cruz Reynoso
Former Associate Justice of the California Supreme Court & the Third District Court of Appeal

Constance L. “Connie” Rice
Former Co-Director of the Los Angeles NAACP Legal Defense & Educational Fund

Joseph N. Sanberg
Founder, CalEITC4Me

Bruce Stenslie
President & CEO, Economic Development Collaborative-Ventura County

Arturo Vargas
Executive Director, NALEO

Eugene J. “Gene” Voiland
Former President & CEO of Aera Energy LLC

Sunne Wright McPeak
President & CEO of the California Emerging Technology Fund