Nominations now open for annual California Steward Leader Awards

800 300 CA Economic Summit

2019 California Steward Leader Award winners Kathy Moxon (left), Pete Weber, and Jim Mayer (Photo: David Jon Photography/CAFwd)

Nominations are now open for the 2020 California Steward Leader Awards recognizing individuals who embody the values of stewardship and leadership at both statewide and regional levels.

“California is incredibly lucky to have a wealth of strong and dedicated leaders that contribute their time, talent and energy to helping ensure all Californian’s present and future have the opportunity to prosper,” said Micah Weinberg, CEO of CA FWD. “The California Steward Leader Awards are one way we can recognize these leaders’ invaluable contributions the state.”

Begun by CA FWD and the California Economic Summit in 2015, the annual awards honor individuals who have significantly contributed to collaborating with public, private and civic sector leaders to advance triple-bottom line solutions that balances equity, environmental sustainability and economic growth.

During the 2019 California Economic Summit in Fresno, the awards were presented to Fresno business and civic leader Peter Weber; Kathy Moxon, director of Redwood Coast Rural Action; and, James Mayer who led California Forward for more than a decade from its inception to its place as a leader in California’s political and economic reform.

“California and Californians have benefitted tremendously from the dedication and committed stewardship of business, civic, and regional leaders like 2019 awardees Peter Weber, Kathy Moxon and James Mayer,” said Assemblymember Sabrina Cervantes, chair of the Assembly Committee on Jobs, Economic Development, and the Economy. “It is important to recognize civic leaders for their daily devotion to the livelihoods of their neighbors and all who strive to make it here in California.”

Past awardees have included Glenda Humiston, vice president of the University of California Agriculture and Natural Resources; Paul Granillo, president and CEO of the Inland Empire Economic Partnership; Deborah Nankivell, CEO of the Fresno Business Council, Van Ton-Quinlinvan, CEO of Futuro Health; Bud Colligan, co-chair of the Monterey Bay Economic Partnership; Sunne Wright McPeak, president and CEO of the California Emerging Technology Fund; and, Becky Morgan, president of the Morgan Family Foundation.

Nominate a Leader

You're invited to nominate someone who best exemplifies a leader who helps sustain California as a place to create and thrive, to enjoy and to explore, to nurture and to bestow to future generations.

Two Steward Leader Awards will be presented this year in the following categories:

  • The California Regional Steward Leader Award recognizes leadership within a region.
  • The California Steward Leader Award recognizes statewide contributions.

To nominate a leader please click here. Nominations are being accepted until October 31 and you can submit more than one nomination.

This year’s awards will be presented virtually at the 2020 California Economic Summit on December 3-4.

For questions about the California Steward Leader Awards please reach out to




CA Economic Summit

All stories by: CA Economic Summit