California Steward Leader Awards

Nominate for the 2022 California Steward Leader Awards are now open!

The California Steward Leader Awards  are presented annually at the California Economic Summit to individuals who contribute significantly to collaborating with public, private and civic sector leaders to advance triple-bottom-line solutions that balance equity, environmental sustainability and economic growth.

Use the form below to submit your nomination. You may also submit more than one nomination.

Nominations will be accepted until Friday October 7.

The Awards are given to Californians who best exemplify leaders who help sustain California as a place to create and thrive, to enjoy and to explore, to nurture and to bestow to future generations.

Two Steward Leader Awards will be presented this year in the following categories:

  • California Regional Steward Leader Award recognizes leadership within a region
  • California Steward Leader Award recognizes statewide contributions

The awards will be presented at the 2022 California Economic Summit on October 27-28 in Bakersfield.

For questions about the California Steward Leader Awards please reach out to

2021 Award Winners

MBEP’s Kate Roberts To Be Honored At The California Economic Summit
1024 576 Ed Coghlan

Monterey Bay leader named the 2021 California Regional Steward of the Year

Previous Years

Isabella Casillas Guzman
Administrator, U.S. Small Business Administration
2020 California Steward Leader

Dr. Alma Salazar
Executive Vice President, UNITE-LA
2020 California Regional Steward Leader

Jim Mayer
President Emeritus, California Forward
2019 California Steward Leader

Pete Weber
Business and Civic Leader
2019 California Steward Leader

Kathy Moxon
Director, Redwood Coast Rural Action
2019 California Regional Steward Leader

Glenda Humiston
Vice President, University of California Agriculture and Natural Resources
2018 California Steward Leader

Paul Granillo
President and CEO, Inland Empire Economic Partnership
2018 California Regional Steward Leader

Van Ton-Quinlivan
CEO, Futuro Health
2017 California Steward Leader

Deborah Nankivell
CEO, Fresno Business Council
2017 California Regional Steward Leader

Sunne Wright McPeak
President and CEO, California Emerging Technology Fund
2016 California Steward Leader

Bud Colligan
Co-Chair, Monterey Bay Economic Partnership
2016 California Regional Steward Leader

Becky Morgan
President, Morgan Family Foundation
2015 California Steward Leader

California Steward Leader Awards

Nominator (Tell us about yourself)

Nominee (Tell us about who you are nominating)