Sunne Wright McPeak

President & CEO of the California Emerging Technology Fund

Sunne Wright McPeak is president and chief executive officer of the California Emerging Technology Fund, a non-profit organization providing statewide leadership to accelerate the development of broadband and other advanced communication services to underserved communities and populations.

She previously was secretary of the Business, Transportation and Housing Agency under Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger. In that role, Ms. McPeak oversaw the largest state agency in California, which includes the Department of Transportation (Caltrans), the Department of Motor Vehicles, the Department of Managed Care, the Department of Corporations, and the California Highway Patrol among other departments and offices. As secretary, Ms. McPeak was responsible for more than 42,000 employees and an $11 billion budget. Under her leadership, the performance and productivity of all departments in the BTH Agency improved significantly – cutting average wait times at the DMV from over an hour to 21 minutes, reducing by two-thirds the time to issue real estate licenses, and generating more than $180 million in savings.

Ms. McPeak previously was president and chief executive officer of the Bay Area Council, an employer-led policy organization addressing regional economic prosperity issues. Prior to holding that position, she was president and chief executive officer of the Bay Area Economic Forum, a public-private partnership between the Bay Area Council and the Association of Bay Area Governments. For more than 15 years she served as a member of the Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors and has served as president of the California State Association of Counties. She also has served on the boards of directors of First Nationwide Bank and Simpson Manufacturing Company.

Ms. McPeak grew up on a small dairy farm in the San Joaquin Valley.

She holds a bachelor's degree in international medicine from the University of California, Santa Barbara and a master's of public health degree in health education and medical care administration from the University of California, Berkeley. She has been awarded two honorary doctorates from California State University East Bay and John F. Kennedy University.